Did you know if you want to gain muscle, you need to consume 2.2 grams of protein per kilogram of bodyweight?
Suppose you’re in the process of taking your fitness journey to the next level, choosing the right type of protein powder. However, if you’re plant-based, you will need to choose the right vegan protein source.
Read on to learn things to consider when choosing the right vegan protein powder.
Good Sources of Protein for Vegans
Whether you’re a vegan or want to use a vegan protein powder, you should familiarise yourself with all the types of vegan proteins. Many people who are not vegans find that whey protein increases bloating, cramps, or even causes nausea, which is why they go the plant-based route.
Beans are legumes that are excellent sources of fiber and protein and are also inexpensive. There are also plenty of options to choose from, such as black, pinto, cannellini, kidney beans, and more.
In 1/2 a cup of beans, you can expect to get 10g of protein.
Chickpeas or garbanzo beans are other legumes that are packed with protein. This legume is popular in many vegan dishes due to its versatility. It has been used in popular Mediterranean dishes such as hummus.
Eating 1/2 cup of chickpeas will add 6g of protein to your diet.
Lentils are another option for plant-based people to get all of the nutrients they need. While there are different types of lentils, you can expect these to be packed with protein. A 1/4 cup of lentils has about 13g of protein.
Pea protein is one of the most common types of protein sources for plan-based people. You can eat them fresh, frozen, canned, and even in powder form.
A cup of peas will provide you with 1.76 grams of protein and only 26 calories.
Soybeans are another great source of protein because they have one of the highest content of protein. In 1/4 cup, you can expect to consume 15g of protein.
Forms of Protein Powder
When you’re looking for the right type of vegan powder, you need to think about the different protein powder forms you can get. The most common types of protein powder are available in isolate, hydrolysate, and concentrate.
An isolate is a form of protein powder made entirely from isolated amino acids. If you’re looking for a more pure form of protein with little fat, fiber, and other substances, isolate is the right protein form for you.
Because your body digests isolates slower, these are the least allergenic of all the protein sources. Not to mention, since your body digests them slowly, they will keep you full longer.
If you want something higher in protein but less concentrated, protein concentrates are the best option.
Protein concentrates go through less processing, which gives them their high protein content and makes them a more natural protein source.
Hydrolysates are proteins soaked in wanted that are easy to digest. When you soak protein hydrolysates in water, the bonds between the amino acids go through enzymatic activity.
Most people prefer protein hydrolysates because they easily incorporate them into skeletal muscle protein. Protein hydrolysates are excellent to take after intense strength training because they help support muscle repair.
Consider This Before Choosing a Vegan Protein Powder
After learning about the most common types of plant-based protein and powder forms, there are a few things you need to keep in mind. Because not all protein powders are created equal, you need to choose the right one for your goals.
Ensure It’s a Complete Protein Powder
The first thing you need to consider when choosing a vegan protein powder is if it’s a complete source of protein.
For a vegan protein powder to be complete, it needs to have the nine essential amino acids found in protein: isoleucine, histidine, lysine, leucine, threonine, methionine, phenylalanine, tryptophan, and valine.
Before purchasing a vegan protein powder, ensure it contains these nine essential amino acids.
Grams of Protein
Another thing to consider when choosing the best vegan protein source for you is the amount of protein it contains. While the amount of protein you consume in a day depends on your body weight and goals, you should aim to consume .8 grams of protein per kilogram.
Keep your goals in mind when choosing the right type of vegan protein powder.
Although pea is the most common type of protein source in vegan powders, other sources are blended in, such as hemp, brown rice, soy, and others.
If you’re trying to cut soy, for example, then you will need to choose a protein powder that does not contain soy.
Even if you go plant-based, there’s a good chance there is sugar added to your vegan protein powder.
This vegan protein powder, for example, uses stevia as a sweetener rather than added sugar.
If you’re trying to watch how many calories you eat in a day, you might want to choose a vegan protein powder that has a low added-sugar content. Those with certain health conditions should also limit their added sugar intake.
Protein Powder Flavors
Another thing to consider when choosing the best vegan protein powder is the flavor. It’s easy for some protein powder flavors to taste artificial. While chocolate and vanilla are the most common flavors, more complex flavors, such as salted caramel, mean more added sugar.
Consider the added sugar and aftertaste when choosing a vegan powder.
Allergies and Other Food Intolerances
Before you settle on a vegan protein powder, you should consider your food intolerances. For example, if you have an intolerance to soy, you might want to stay clear of vegan proteins that contain soy.
Are You Ready to Choose the Right Vegan Protein Powder?
Now that you know about the things to consider when choosing the right vegan protein powder, it’s time you reach your fitness goals.
When choosing the right protein powder, you need to consider the protein content, added sugar, source of protein, and consider your food intolerances.
If you enjoyed this article and would like to learn more, check out the rest of our blog.