Did you know that 35 states and Washington DC have legalized marijuana for medical use? Another 16 of those states have taken it a step further and legalized marijuana recreationally.
Over recent years, there’s been more research done around the impact that cannabis has on the human body. As a result, there’s been an attitude shift in certain states towards how people can use it for their ailments.
One of those states is Oklahoma. It has some of the most lenient laws when it comes to cannabis. If you’re interested in finding out more about medical marijuana in Oklahoma, continue reading.
Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Laws
In June 2018, Oklahoma legalized medical marijuana use, making it one of the first medical marijuana states to implement an extensive program. Fast forward four years later, and it’s one the largest in the country.
Although you can buy medical marijuana, there are still a few laws surrounding its use and how much you can have.
Possession of Cannabis
You’ll first need to have a state-issued medical marijuana license if you want to buy cannabis. Having this card allows you to possess medical marijuana legally.
But it doesn’t mean you can have any amount that you want. You’re allowed up to 3oz of cannabis on your person and up to 8oz in your home.
Growing Your Plants
If you like growing cannabis plants, you can have up to six mature plants or six seedlings in your home. Also, you can have up to 72oz of medical marijuana edible products.
If you decide to grow cannabis plants, they need to be done at your primary residence and nowhere else. But if you can’t grow them yourself, Oklahoma law allows you to designate a licensed caregiver to give you a hand.
A medical marijuana card in Oklahoma can save you from having run-ins with the law. Cannabis has been decriminalized, and you’ll get a fine for possessing a small amount.
However, if you don’t have a state-issued marijuana license, you could get in big trouble. Selling any amount of cannabis can get you a two-year jail term. If you decide to grow plants, you can face up to 20 years in prison.
Qualifying for a Medical Marijuana Card
One of the reasons Oklahoma is an excellent state for medical marijuana use is that it doesn’t have any specific criteria to get a card. Other states require you to an ailment that falls under a qualification list.
In Oklahoma, you only need two things:
- Need to be 18 years or older
- Have to get recommended by a physician
You can still qualify for a medical marijuana card if you’re under 18. But your application will require signatures from two different physicians in Oklahoma as well as your guardian.
Applying for your medical marijuana card is a simple process. First, you’ll need to fill out the application online and pay the $100 fee. The forms require information such as:
- Proof of Residency in Oklahoma
- Physician information
- Photo ID
- Permanent mailing address
- Contact information
- Letter of recommendation from a physician
Each of these documents has different criteria for what’s acceptable. So make sure you comb over the application details to see what you can use.
Waiting For Your Card
After completing the application and paying the fees, it will be reviewed within the following weeks. There may be a slight delay if your application is missing documentation. You’ll be notified and asked to submit what’s required.
If your application gets accepted, you should receive your new card in 1–2 weeks. Usually, the card is valid for two years unless the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) revokes it.
As we briefly mentioned above, the state of Oklahoma allows medical marijuana patients to request a caregiver. These individuals are permitted to administer the cannabis treatments to homebound people.
If caring for someone with an OMMA card, a caregiver will also need to fill out a caregiver application with supporting evidence. Once accepted, they can grow or purchase cannabis on your behalf.
However, it’s important to note that this license does not give caregivers the right to use medical cannabis. It’s only for the person that needs the care. You’ll need to apply for a separate medical marijuana license if you want to use it.
What Ailments Qualify for Medical Marijuana Use in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma doesn’t have a list of complex conditions you need to adhere to before qualifying for a medical marijuana card. All you need is a physician recommendation for one of the following:
- Body aches
- Loss of appetite
- Muscle pain
However, if you’re dealing with one of these conditions, it doesn’t mean a physician will automatically recommend medical marijuana as a treatment. So you’ll need to research to find a cannabis-friendly service.
Renewing Your Medical Marijuana License
Your new medical marijuana card will have an expiration date of two years after your application is accepted. As it gets closer to the expiration date, you’ll need to get ready to renew it.
Renewing your card is straightforward. Visit the OMMA site, and look for the ‘Returning Applicants’ section. Follow the subsequent directions to renew your card.
It costs about $100 to restore your card. But if you’re on Medicaid or Medicare, it will cost $20.
Now You Know About Medical Marijuana in Oklahoma
The availability of medical marijuana in Oklahoma has opened up doors for many suffering from challenging ailments. Hopefully, more states will adopt a similar approach to medical marijuana like Oklahoma as time goes on.
If you think you qualify for an OMMA card, talk to your physician about your health. Once they give you the okay, please submit your application and visit your local medical marijuana dispensary once it’s accepted.
For more information about the medical marijuana industry, check out our blog for related content.